Relief Lodge no. 431 A.F. & A.M was chartered by the Grand Lodge of North Carolina on January 14th, 1891 under the leadership of the first Master, J.H. Boon, and eight other Brother Masons: William C. Benson, J.D. Parrish, J.H Branham, Abram Dixon, L.W. Mangum, D.H. Wallace & A.M. Barnes.
The first meeting was held on the 2nd floor of "Old Peacock's Drug Store” (now Dr. Raynor’s office) located on West Main Street in Benson. Moving from there, to the 3rd floor of the First Citizens Bank Building which is now Benson's Public Library. Around 1930, the lodge moved back to the original location above Peacock’s Drug Store, which was owned by Bro. Moses A. Peacock.
In 1975, Relief Lodge was moved to its present location at 315 S Lee St.
We are now a vibrant and active lodge consisting of nearly 90 Masons. Most of our active Masons are also active in other Masonic organizations and Rites which include the Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Scottish & York Rites, and the Order of the Eastern Star.
Historic Information was provided by Past Masters Danny M. Holland (1984) and Danny O. Johnson (1987).